Zanzibar (Tanzania) comprises a series of many islands and islets, the main ones being Unguja and Pemba. Unguja, the southern island, is the most populated of both, and is sometimes referred to as Zanzibar directly. It hosts Stone Town, the capital of the archipelago, an historic, bustling city of narrow alleyways and stone coral buildings.

Unguja is in the Indian Ocean about 40 km east of Bagamoyo on the Tanzanian mainland. The slightly hilly island itself is about 85 km long and between 20 - 40 km wide. Most of the population lives in the more fertile regions of the north and west. The eastern part of the island is arid and covered in coral rock, but the beaches and the reefs there are among the best in the world.

Pemba, located about 50 km north of Unguja, is far less populated. Known also by its Arabic name, Al Khundra (Green Island). Pemba is covered in steep hills full of palms, clove and rubber trees, rice paddies and forests.

  Visas and others Getting to Zanzibar Electricity Money Languages Climate People Geography Stone Town map